Dungeons & Dragons Classics
Dungeons & Dragons Classics: Every edition available again



roll the dice!
Close
Close
Browse









Back
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
 
$24.95 $9.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
13 28
6 12
2 3
0 0
0 2
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to view
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeff G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2015 15:10:43
This brings back memories of the late 70's when I started D&D. Many of the rules I won't use, but there are many little forgotten gems that I will be using for my campaign. A good buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Petterson C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2015 15:47:45
The scan of the book isn't really nice, but readable. It can use a lot of improvement for digital consumption.

Test prints to Epson L210 at 70g. result in good copy print with a bit fading on the edges of the text, highlights on the tabes, and some images.

Brother HL1110 is good too, except that darker colored images tends to merge together. Perhaps if this is a grey scale version, this can be perfect, Text fading seems less evident.

Overall, if you just read it on paper prints and 100% zoom on pdf reader, it's already satisfactory. However, if you are meticulous or expect a retina display on digital tablets, its a bit frustrating when zoomig to more than 400%.

Just price it at $4.95 until it gets better... A deal I am satisfied.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Travis P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2015 00:09:17
The scan quality is disappointing. No matter how I resize the file for easier viewing, the text is just too fuzzy; I get a headache trying to read it for more than 5 minutes. For such a significant product, which likely brings in a massive cash flow for both the publisher and this website, I'm astonished a higher quality scan wasn't done. The copy of the book they scanned seems in great shape, but the DPI settings they used for the scan were pretty low. This is definitely nowhere near 300 DPI!

As far as the content goes: This version of the D&D rules is one of the best out there, and this particular product is an excellent, complete, crisp compilation of its rules, if a bit dated. It's just a shame the quality of this file is so low that I'm basically unable to use it...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Al S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2015 21:03:34
As far as game books go the D&D Rules Cyclopedia offers what may be the best value for your money. It certainly has sentimental value for us old school gamers who remember when elf, dwarf, and halfling were classes and playing D&D didn't require pouring through sourcebooks to decide what kind of fighter to play. It harkens back to an earlier age when RPG rules were simple, uncluttered, and the game was more about imagination than balancing skills and character options.

Beyond the nostalgia value there is still a lot to love about this product. In addition to character generation it covers rules for making characters immortal, game world information for Mystara, a little bit of the Hollow World setting, monsters, treasure, converting characters to and from OD&D to AD&D, and large scale combat. Seriously, it has everything but the kitchen sink! I highly recommend this product for any D&D fan-young or old, new or experienced.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathanael C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2015 16:56:01
Huzzah! This rocks my world. My favorite edition, now digital! No matter how many other games I play, I always come back to the good ol' Rules Cyclopedia again and again.

Warning: this file is HUGE. It works very well in each reader app I've tried (both on win8 and iOS), and it has bookmarks too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matt S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2015 20:27:34
Excellent book, and a good scan too. The text is a little fuzzy, but the full-size preview will give you an idea of the quality that you get. I would prefer a scan more like what's used for the B/X rulebooks, but it's still a great PDF.

The rules themselves are a great adaptation of the BECM rules, along with a tiny, tiny helping of references to the immortals from the -I portion of BECMI. B/X is simpler, BECMI works better as new player introduction, but the Rules Cyclopedia is hard to argue against as the tome of all the things you could ever need to run a game in classic D&D.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lewis G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2015 23:32:17
For 10 dollars, this is THE ultimate deal people! BUY THIS BOOK! It is very worth it and it is the most complete Dnd book you would ever find. Even if you don't use basic rules, it has tons of stuff that is compatible with all editions, including: mass combat, dungeon and campaign design, magic items, monsters galore, pre-made Mystara campaign, and every rule needed to play. It is a players handbook, dungeon master guide, monster manual, campaign book, dungeon creator all in one! I can't stress it enough...buy this book!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Craig S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2014 13:53:24
This is one awesome book at an awesome price you can't even get close to this price for the hard back. Buy it while you can.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeffrey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2013 18:26:24
Much more convenient than separate volumes, and an improvement in clarity

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stefano S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2013 12:15:53
Really good to have this book as a pdf. Although it is a scan the quality is high.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ilias L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2013 10:54:37
Best book ever. AWFUL scan. Especially for this price.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2013 03:37:37
The most concise yet complete version of D&D you will ever own.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2013 12:04:34
I bought this PDF years ago for $5. This new scan is great, and well worth $10 for the D&D enthusiast. There are good retro clones out there, like Dark Dungeons, but this "official" version has options Dark Dungeons doesn't, like wrestling rules. ...the best PDF WotC has to offer.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2013 13:52:24
Nothing can compare to the actual physical copy...the awesome texture of the paper and cover is something you do not find anywhere these days. However, they are trading at overly inflated prices.

The advantage of this PDF is portability and availability...it's also pretty self contained...now to find some people up for some BECMI play! So excited to get a reliable copy of this wonderful publication!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2013 10:14:40
Few games and rulesets capture my imagination like BECMI (B/X)--Twilight:2000 and Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 1E/2E being the others). The D&D Rules Cyclopedia is something I've owned in a electronic bootleg form for years as actually purchasing it was impossible.

Indexed, searchable, and in color, i.e., Appendix 1, The D&D Game World. A must have document for your early D&D collection.

This PDF release is exactly what an old gamer and grognard like myself needs to pick up a game of D&D again using a single reference. The price point is perfect. Thank you WotC for the e-release of this important work.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 45 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG