Dungeons & Dragons Classics
Dungeons & Dragons Classics: Every edition available again



roll the dice!
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
 
$24.95 $9.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 24
6 10
2 2
0 0
0 2
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to view
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Craig S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2014 13:53:24
This is one awesome book at an awesome price you can't even get close to this price for the hard back. Buy it while you can.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeffrey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2013 18:26:24
Much more convenient than separate volumes, and an improvement in clarity

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stefano S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2013 12:15:53
Really good to have this book as a pdf. Although it is a scan the quality is high.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ilias L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2013 10:54:37
Best book ever. AWFUL scan. Especially for this price.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2013 03:37:37
The most concise yet complete version of D&D you will ever own.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2013 12:04:34
I bought this PDF years ago for $5. This new scan is great, and well worth $10 for the D&D enthusiast. There are good retro clones out there, like Dark Dungeons, but this "official" version has options Dark Dungeons doesn't, like wrestling rules. ...the best PDF WotC has to offer.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2013 13:52:24
Nothing can compare to the actual physical copy...the awesome texture of the paper and cover is something you do not find anywhere these days. However, they are trading at overly inflated prices.

The advantage of this PDF is portability and availability...it's also pretty self contained...now to find some people up for some BECMI play! So excited to get a reliable copy of this wonderful publication!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2013 10:14:40
Few games and rulesets capture my imagination like BECMI (B/X)--Twilight:2000 and Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 1E/2E being the others). The D&D Rules Cyclopedia is something I've owned in a electronic bootleg form for years as actually purchasing it was impossible.

Indexed, searchable, and in color, i.e., Appendix 1, The D&D Game World. A must have document for your early D&D collection.

This PDF release is exactly what an old gamer and grognard like myself needs to pick up a game of D&D again using a single reference. The price point is perfect. Thank you WotC for the e-release of this important work.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trent F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2009 11:07:23
What a great service and what a great product!!! This is what I have been waiting for for a long time.

The PDF scan is pretty darn good. As I have read in other reviews, yes, there is a little print "bleeding" that shows through from the back side of some of the pages and yes, when printed out at 8.5 X 11 some of the text is slightly fuzzy. These minor quality "flaws" are pale in comparison to what you actually get. A PDF of the entire book in color with some map references that you can print anytime you need to reference the rules. For the price I have to say this is well worth it! I am very pleased, obviously.

When printing the document, there is perfect spacing along the left margin for either a comb spine or a ring binder. I have access to some very high quality printers and binding machines and I have printed out a fantastic copy for myself. This can also be achieved at a quality printing and binding store. As I put ware and tare on my copy I don't have to worry because I can just reprint any parts that I have damaged and replace them. Simply fantastic!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2008 10:19:15
I haven't downloaded it yet....maybe you should have this section AFTER the download so I can give an accurate review?

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Miguel d. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2008 09:49:53
Hear Ye, Hear Ye!

This is the definitive (imho) classic roleplaying resource, bar nothing. In its 300+ highly packaged three columns text, you will find rules and resources to run almost any game in a classic roleplaying setting. It's a scan, but well bookmarked, includes rules for mass combat (not a miniature game, just basic resolution), monster, gear, spells, campaigning and so on.

Two thumbs up! :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2008 09:12:49
Excellent resource for classic Dungeons & Dragons. Compiles the Basic, Expert, Companion and Master sets into one volume. Does add skill rules from the gazeteers, and leaves out small things like tournament rules. The art is worse than the great art from the sets, but it's sufficient. The scan is pretty good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2008 07:31:19
This is, in my opinion, the very best set of D&D rules ever in print. Simple enough for novices to play, enough details and options for advanced players to have fun with.

This is not a suitable book for the novice, however, despite being a good game for novice players, since it is a compilation of many other products. For reference, this product merges the (Red) Basic, (Blue) Expert, (Teal) Companion, and (Black) Master D&D sets' rules. There is no adventure, but it does include some of the Gaz series maps (a teaser, really... mostly Darokin and surrounds). Even for players with all the included matter, there are a few new bits, including the general skills from Hollow World, and options for 36 levels for all classes, plus AD&D conversions.

New players should purchase a basic set (the Black cover Basic set is the companion volume for novices, covering levels 1-5).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rodrigo M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2007 14:07:22
This is the book that hooked me into D&D, and through all the edition changes it is still my favorite resource book for a good session of dungeon crawl.

My early gaming life was mostly dedicated to GURPS, back in the early 90s, and by that time I had no interest in D&D or AD&D. Then I've managed to get a copy of this book.

Rules Cyclopedia showed me that even the rules I disliked had a reason to be, and it has the right amount of information to make you feel the way the game is supposed to flow.

It is complete, you can use it for any style of fantasy campaign and it encompasses the full scope of growth your characters may wish for.

After all these years the book has aged well, and it still provides nice ideas, both in mechanics and flavor, that any player or DM might find useful, whatever set of rules they decide to use.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Callan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2007 22:31:13
This object of the D&D Rules Cyclopedia to take all the old D&D rules from the Basic, Expert, Companion, and Master boxed sets and put them all into one well-indexed package. If you want rules for druids and mystics, you can find them here. If you want rules for hiring animal handlers and seamen, you can find them here too. If you want rules on non-lethal combat, well, they're here too. To my mind, this product makes the 'Basic' D&D game more like the AD&D game of the time: more options, more rules, easier reference, fewer and duller illustrations, and much less flavour. It would be unfair to give this product a poor rating as it so eminently succeeds in its objective. Maybe it would have been better, though, if it hadn't succeeded so completely.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG