Dungeons & Dragons Classics
Dungeons & Dragons Classics: Every edition available again



roll the dice!
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
 
$4.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 12
2 5
0 0
0 3
1 3
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Click to view
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2014 14:35:34
My friend at school DM'd this back in the day.
33 years later I bought it from this excellent website (excellent scan), printed it so I can now DM it for my son 33 years on!
Its amazing how much you remember- incredible.

This is where the 'mad hermit' made his first appearance (every adventure we played after this seemed to have a mad hermit in!)
Love the back cover picture too
Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 13:49:04
I once read that more people have played through the Keep on the Borderlands more than any other adventure. Of that I am sure. I have run scores of new players through it myself including a new generation of gamers.

The module hardly needs an introduction and it really is almost immune to review. Who cares that the Caves of Chaos look like some sort of Monster Condo where all these different creatures live together until those meddling humans show up from the Keep.

Going to the Caves is rite of passage. It is the hallmark of a real honest to Pelor adventurer.
If you don't have it you can't really call yourself a D&D player.

Just remember, "Bree-Yark" means "I surrender" in goblin. Yell it out really loud.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shell A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2013 18:19:04
As of 02-20-2013 WotC has re-scanned a new map, which is clean, and complete!

If you are a fan of the Moldvay (1981) version of D&D, you must buy this adventure module!

When I began to play D&D, this is was the standard for all other modules to follow... and the model for many of my own adventure modules.

Buy it! Play it! Rack-up some XPs!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2013 06:56:01
The map is missing information. I paid $4.99 for a module with an incomplete scan. UNSAT!

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2013 15:00:09
My favorite module ever. I DM'd this back in the 80's at least a half a dozen times. I've got a near mint copy of the original at this is a very good scan.
My only comment would be to put the inside cover maps right after the cover instead of at pages 34+35 right before the back cover.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by allen d. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2013 03:59:41
One step forward, two steps back...

I bought the original scan of Keep On The Borderlands from DrivethruRPG years ago, and I was really looking forward to the release of a higher quality version. While the new scan is indeed better in some ways, it’s worse in others, and overall I’m disappointed.
On one hand, the interior pages of the module that contain the descriptions of The Keep and The Caves are much higher quality then before. The fonts and layout were all over the place in the old version, and the maps of The Keep and the surrounding countryside were darker and blurrier. It’s great that WOTC cleaned up the main part the module, but unfortunately, the front cover and maps are much worse in this version.
For some reason the front cover was cropped sloppily, and if you enlarge the preview thumbnail above, you can see that the letter “F” in “FOR DUNGEONS & DRAGONS BASIC SET” is missing from the upper left corner (By the way, there’s a similar issue with the covers of C2, T1, and G1-2-3). The cover image itself is a bit fuzzy and suffers from compression artifacts, which is unfortunate because even though the file size of the new PDF is about six times bigger than the old one (23.1 vs. 3.5 megabytes), it’s still a small file in the age of broadband internet. So as long as file size wasn’t a concern, I wish they would have included higher quality cover art and maps.
Unfortunately, the map of the Caves Of Chaos from the inside cover is the new scan’s biggest problem. It’s really yellowed and stained compared to the clean white pages of the module itself, and three rooms on the left side have been marked with pen.
Worst of all, part of the map is missing! It’s split in half over two pages, and a narrow but important section has been lost from the middle. Cave entrances “C” and “F”, room 41 from the bugbear lair, and room 20 and area “g” of room 21 from the goblin lair were all on the missing part of the map.
The Keep On The Borderlands deserves a five star rating for it’s content, but the sloppy presentation of this PDF really bothers me, and I don’t think I’ll be buying more of the re-released D&D PDFs until I can be certain that they don’t have these kind of problems.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Allan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2013 01:21:09
You can't say you've played D&D until you've played B2. A great introductory module and an enormous amount of fun to play, regardless of how experienced your players are. Do not hesitate to purchase this product.

Some of the reviews below refer to an old version that was up for sale years ago. This version is complete and has all the maps.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/23/2013 21:31:26
Ah, The Keep on the Borderlands. For many, this was the adventure that helped launch the lifetime hobby of Dungeons and Dragons. Here we have the classic D&D setup; a home-base for the PCs near a complex filled with monsters. It has become a cliche in adventure design, but here is one of the originals. There is no plot, no elaborate backstory, and not a lot of "fluff" to bog things down.
What you do have is a really fun adventuring environment that's complete enough to run as-is but open-ended enough to fit into almost any campaign. It's also a great piece of nostalgia.

There are a few elements of this adventure that you may see as either good or bad, depending on what you're looking for in the product. First, the large cave complex filled with monsters is not very "realistic" from real world standpoint. If you think too hard about the logic of all these hostile creatures living like neighbors right next one another, it begins to fall apart. On the other hand, the caves are very well designed as a game element. The "dungeon" is non-linear, meaning that the players are free to explore it and face its perils in different ways; There is no railroading here, just a free-form area full of monsters, traps, and treasure.

Another aspect of the module that may bother some readers is the bare bones design of the Keep itself. While most of the NPCs are given stats and a job title, none of them have names or descriptions. To me as the GM, this was a feature rather than a bug. There is great fun to be had in giving names and (random) personality traits to the residents of the Keep! Your mileage may vary, though, and certainly if you're looking for an adventure where all the work is done for you, you'll be disappointed here.

It's also worth mentioning that the module contains a bit of advice for new Game Masters. While none of this is ground-breaking stuff, it's concise and well-written and, overall, offers good tips on running any classic-style D&D adventure. If you're looking for an introduction to classic Dungeons and Dragons, or want an easily portable adventure that makes up for its lack of realism with a really fun design, you can do worse than the Keep on the Borderlands.

Note: The scan of the module is fair and seems to print out well. Wizards cleaned up the flaws present in the older version and the maps that are included are easy to read. While the initial offering lacked the maps for the Caves of Chaos, the publisher quickly corrected the problem. Great job!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2013 05:55:53
NOTE: This product is no longer missing maps. A quick email to customer service and they promptly fixed the problem.

B2 The Keep on the Borderlands is iconic to say the least. For many gamers this adventure was our first foray into the world of Dungeons & Dragons and it enthralled us with all the potential the game had to offer. Even more important the adventure has withstood the test of time and works just as well for the modern gamer as it did all those years ago. As either a one-shot game or a mini-campaign this module has enough material to provide DMs and their players with plenty of material to fill game night. Enjoy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2009 10:55:58
An absolute classic must-have for ALL novice D&D players! This along with B1 are an essential part of a roleplayer's education. Scan decent, but the content is solid gold. If I could give it ten stars, I certainly would!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2009 17:06:19
This scan of the module is greatly improved over the descriptions I have read about the previous copy. All maps are included in this scan, including the map of the Keep itself. Everything is crisp and clear, which is amazing considering how old this module is.

The stats for this module are for Basic D&D. This product should not be confused with the 25th anniversary module "Return to the KotB" for AD&D second edition.

Likes: A classic module written by the master himself. (EGG)
The setting is loosely defined as being "Somewhere off the map" so you can put it anywhere you wish.

Dislikes: There are two spots in the module where it looks like someone used a high-lighter to define the location of a creature stat block. It shows up in the scan as a light gray box. A niggling detail, but some people do get annoyed by these things. (I am not one of them, however.)

Quality of the scan: good
Value for the price: very good

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2008 15:31:42
The latest updated download is significantly better quality; worth it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Miguel d. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/29/2008 02:16:11
What may I say? A small and nice campaign setting that you can't take too seriously. Bring your 12 years old heart and have fun, then it will work just fine for you :)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Si M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2008 19:23:43
This is just one of the best all round adventures from the classic first edition, the scan is a little ragered, but its fine enough to print.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2007 00:00:00
Was everything that I remembered from playing years ago. My kids loved it.


QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG