Dungeons & Dragons Classics
Dungeons & Dragons Classics: Every edition available again



roll the dice!
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
 
$5.50 $4.99
Average Rating:3.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 3
0 3
0 2
0 0
0 1
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Click to view
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2014 02:50:55
Five stars for content, but with a portion of the map missing, it can only score three.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 16:20:57
This adventure had always been something of a Holy Grail for me. I was a huge fan of Tom Moldvay, I had heard this adventure took place in Glantri and it was full of horror elements. As time went on and I still never found a copy I began to hear more; that it was a crazy dungeon full of crazier NPCs. That it is was more of a thinking module and not a hack and slash one and finally it was heavily influenced by Clark Ashton Smith, whom I always felt was superior to Lovecraft in many respects.

I did finally get a copy, paid a lot for it and I also got a copy here.
The module lives up to the hype. It is not a particularly easy module to run and you better spend a lot of time with it. But for me at that time (the mid 90s when I finally got a copy) it became a great addition to my growing Ravenloft collection. It was not officially part of Ravenloft mind you, but so much of it feels the same that is would have been a crime not to bring them together.

This is one of the last of the truly classic modules.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Darin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2013 13:40:44
I loved this adventure when it first came out. It ranks high on most surveys on peoples favorites and I agree with those assessments. The eclectic cast of characters is a highpoint for me. Other than the map issue (mentioned in other reviews) the scan is very nicely done. The monster on the cover gave me the shivers back in the day. "OMG! It's using a tree for a club! Run!"

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2013 23:43:04
Great adventure, reviewed by many, and I don't have much to add about that. However, I'd like to second the criticism the previous reviewers criticism of the scan. The main map (on the inside of the cover) has some missing right down the middle. I would really like WotC to correct this, the way they did for the same problem with B2 - rescan the map as one large landscape page, rather than splitting it up and cropping it too short. Thanks.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ron A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2013 22:51:28
This, by far, is the funnest module I ever ran back in the day. This electronic version, unfortunately, was trimmed short on the left edge of the right hand map of the manor. Since I do most of my gaming in the VTT venue these days I find that to be a major flaw preventing me from recommending it to others unless WotC is willing to re-scan the map and release it as an update to the product.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dave B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2006 00:00:00
I'd always wanted this module but never picked it up originally so was please to have the chance here and wasn't dissapointed in the slightest. This has to be one of the Classics of D&D, brilliantly written and well thought out. Great quality scans.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2004 00:00:00
Basic DnD meets Clark Ashton Smith and Roger Zelazny-- what's not to like about this product? One of the first semi-psychadelic DnD adventures (Beyond the Magic Mirror came much later), this is a hoot to read and a blast to run.

LIKED: It feeds my Old Guy nostalgia addiction.

DISLIKED: Should be cheaper. Come on Hasbro-- haven't you cashed in enough on the bones of old school DnD?

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2004 00:00:00
I was delighted with the quality PDF file for this module. It has printed well also - a highly recommended adventure !

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2004 00:00:00
A quirky adventure that's hard to find outside this PDF. Repeats some info from Isle of Dread (see Expert Set).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG