Dungeons & Dragons Classics
Dungeons & Dragons Classics: Every edition available again



roll the dice!
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
 
$5.50 $4.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
12 12
6 15
2 2
0 0
1 0
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Click to view
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2014 15:55:02
I downloaded this free on joining the DnD Classics website. I remember playing this with my friend Andrew in 81 or so. Its a good introductory adventure, but many of the rooms in the two levels of the dungeon are not filled. There is a list of monsters and treasure- and the DM is supposed to place them as he sees fit. Worth getting for completeness but later dungeons in the B series are much better. Thanks.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2013 17:47:16
You know... I first played this back when I was a very young man. I later adapted it to work with AD&D 2nd Ed when I was DMing one of those campaigns... It worked well then, and it works well now! I recently adapted things AGAIN and made this work with my Son and some of his friends who are just starting out in the world of RPGs... They enjoyed themselves as much as I did back in my youth.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2013 12:29:55
Ran as an intro 3.5 not much had to be added. Just some save DCs ect... Took me three week days to read and prep but still not much time each day.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 14:36:45
This is my "go to" adventure anytime I want to start up a new group or game. It's a ritual for me, roll up characters and run them through the halls of the lost Castle of Quasqueton. I still have my copy that I bought all those years ago and it was also one of the first PDFs I purchased from WotC. I never really expanded on Roghan the Fearless or Zelligar the Unknown save that they were long dead and their Castle was now overrun with monsters.
It is one of those adventures I can run with zero prep time and each time I learn something new or remember something I forgot.
This module is simple, easy to use and can adapted to any campaign world and even any game.
It is a perfect module for the Basic game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lucas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2013 11:20:55
I ported to 4E quickly and easily. It was no problem putting some basic monsters in the mod and then running it mostly on the fly. I loved the level of detail and exploration - my PCs had so much fun with the room of pools. It was a breath of fresh air compared to the 4E mods I have ran.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rob M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2013 08:01:36
As the first module for Basic D&D, Search of the Unknown has a history that makes it very appealing to a DM. If you're looking for a very old-school dungeon, this is it.

As an artifact of its time, B1 is an excellent read for any DM looking to become more literate on "how things used to be." The front matter contains helpful advice on running old-school games they way they were intended to be played.

As a dungeon, there are many cool and interesting locations in B1. However, there is also an awful lot of empty space and boring rooms with the simple purpose of housing a random monster. Why the monsters would be in these empty rooms is beyond me.

When I ran B1, I had to do it after some heavy modification. Essentially, I removed any location that didn't have something interesting or fun. While this resulted in a dungeon about half the size, it did provide an adventure that was packed with great high-fantasy magic and fun.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2013 10:32:48
THE original basic D&D module, written by one of the original Blackmoor campaign players, In Search of the Unknown is a delightful lesson in dungeon design that any generation of gamers can benefit from. This style of module, room descriptions that you stock yourself with monsters and treasure from prepared lists, did not become the standard for the D&D modules to come, but is perhaps best suited for the DM first learning his trade. Some encounter areas, like the room of magic pools, are true gems and experiences that will stay with you for the rest of your life.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2013 19:30:43
This adventure takes me back. It has good replay value. The old school random monsters and loot tables can make a a return trip entertaining. It also is difficult without being unforgiving which is crucial for a beginning adventure. Especially in Basic Edition Dungeons and Dragons. The scanned page are also top notch.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/13/2013 13:51:09
B1 was free for a time at the opening of WOTC's PDF store, and I downloaded mostly to see what their PDF offerings for older editions would be like technically. They don't disappoint for the most part. While the text and artwork looks a tiny bit fuzzy, it's perfectly viewable and readable. The PDF has tiered bookmarks everywhere you would want them allowing you to quickly navigate the text. As far as the content is concerned, well, it's B1 In Search of the Unknown. It's unaltered and you get what you're paying for – really, really vintage D&D.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alessandro V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2013 12:21:46
This adventure has been played by so many players and is a classic that every DM should have up his/her sleeve when new players want to start and familiarize themselves with the game and ruleset.
This is D&D nursery!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikko O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2013 18:00:55
B1 In Search of the Unknown is really good, if not perfect instruction module for those new to building, running and populating their own dungeons and included on it's pages is a sample dungeon, which makes it even easier to get started. I'd like to see more modules, which use B1's method of keying/placing monsters and treasure.

It would help a lot of novice dungeon masters, if all editions had a tutorial similar to this and others for building wilderness sandboxes and stories/plots.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2013 21:39:36
This is a pretty good scan of this product. A lesser cousin to B2: Keep on the Borderlands, B1 is still pretty enjoyable in its own right, with some decent beginner DM advice included. As an introductory product to Basic D&D, this product does the trick. There's a not much wasted room here, and there's plenty of room for customization as a DM learns their craft. If you're looking at a neoclassical gaming experience, this should run nicely with either the D&D Basic Set, Labyrinth Lord, Swords & Wizardry, or even Basic Fantasy RPG.

If you're just getting into this style and era of gaming, again I'd recommend picking B2 and B4: The Lost City up first, but don't overlook this product, either.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2013 15:01:41
Beautiful scan of the original B1 adventure. Very helpful to have especially since a GM fills out the rooms with monsters and treasures. Notes can be written on a page and the module can be printed again to allow a new group of players the opportunity to experience a dungeon crawl.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Charles L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2013 08:54:56
This module is probably the best way to introduce new DMs and players to the game. This module is a great example for the new DM to learn on how to create a dungeon that was interesting for the players by all of the great descriptions of the area that they are in. I only wished that more modules were published in this style. I really liked the ability to change this up so that every time that it is run it can be different.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2013 11:48:02
It was this adventure as well as the blue rule book ('Holmes Basic') that accompanied it that set me off into the Gaming (and ultimately creative) life that I lead today.

Looking at it from a pure design sense reminds me of how incredibly lean and mean these early modules were: Not an inch of page space is wasted, and it does in thirty-six pages what would take a 'modern' RPG probably over a hundred! More than one game publisher could learn from studying this module closely!

The print quality is rock-solid, although you get that 'second-hand' feel you get from almost all PDFs that began as printed media....There's nothing that can be done about that however, so I'm not holding that against it.

This classic is once again available for a new generation of gamers to see and learn from it. Well done WOTC!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG