Dungeons & Dragons Classics
Dungeons & Dragons Classics: Every edition available again



roll the dice!
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
 
$4.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
21 13
4 1
0 0
0 0
1 0
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Click to view
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2014 09:50:52
I bought this just for the sake of nostalgia. So many memories of pouring over this book with my brother and friends from school. I remember every drawing and almost can't stand to look at the new books--they don't have the same appeal to me. Anyway, poring over these rules is a fun way to spend a rainy day, whether you are 12 or 45 years old.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2014 16:58:51
I came to the OSR with the creation of retroclones, namely Labyrinth Lord and Basic Fantasy RPG. When this PDF was made available again I purchased it immediately. The writing and organization are clear and clean; Moldvay has created an amazing edition of D&D that is timeless. I'm so glad this and the Cook/Marsh Expert books are available again, and it is well worth the purchase. While I still appreciate the retroclones, I'm sticking to the real thing for my gaming. My only wish is an option for a nice hardcover!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dominic L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2014 15:51:02
I own the Eric Holmes Basic D&D but wanted this version, as I am starting to run D&D campaigns for my son, and I found it is more complete, and the quirks of Holmes' version have been ironed out. Great to have access to this - Expert book next!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2014 15:54:07
As an introduction to retro gaming this is an excellent place to begin. Of course the BECMI Rules Cyclopedia is a complete resource but the Moldvay is a great way to get started with the absolute basics of low level adventuring without having to wade through pages of information neither DM or players will need for at least 2 adventures. Currently introducing my children to the game with THE LOST CITY. Much fun and excitement.

The PDF's are good quality and I have printed and bound with spiral binding - a perfect old time resource.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Lazaro I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2013 18:11:58
At last! The B/X version of Classic D&D is back! The scan is great - the background is white and it can all be clearly seen and read. The bookmarks are well done - plenty of them covering all the major topics.

I highly recommend this version of Classic D&D for anyone who wants to get started with the hobby. It gets right to the point and then gets out of way during play.

I bought the D&D Rules Cyclopedia PDF way back before WOTC stopped selling PDFs so all that's left is the BECMI version of Classic D&D from 1983 for me. Those would be perfect for total newbies!

Buy this now - you won't regret it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2013 04:16:43
I purchased this PDF more for nostalgia value than anything else. It was the first D&D product I ever owned (bought from my local toy store in 1981!), and I cut my role-playing teeth learning the system.

The PDF is incredible quality. This is NOT a hasty scan of a faded and torn old archive copy, instead it looks like a brand new product! The colour cover is clean and vibrant, framing the memorable Erol Otus artwork. Inside the text is crisp and easily read, and the illustrations are faithfully rendered in their original B&W line art style.

The content is everything I remember. The system is presented in a clear and relatively concise format (having been revised by J. Eric Holmes, and Tom Moldvay). The intent was to remove some of the 'fear factor' associated with coming to grips with the rules and making it more accessible to a wider audience. The objective was certainly achieved, and this and its companion Expert rulebook went on to sell staggering amounts in what was considered a niche market.

Whether you are a nostalgia buff looking to recapture those early gaming sessions, or are genuinely interested in having a bash at D&D 'old school', this is a terrific place to start. Sharpen your pencils, crayon up your dice, and lets head to the tavern, there's adventuring to be done!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Casey J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2013 06:49:42
WOW! What more needs to be said? I was delighted to see pdf's being offered once again - especially this one and the Expert Rulebook that goes with it. This is classic D&D at it's finest. As for the quality of the actual pdf, it is the best you could hope for. Pages are all perfectly straight and of uniform size and all text is very clear and readable. I tried printing out a few pages and they came out perfectly legible. If you've ever wanted to play old school D&D this is definitely the way to go and the price is right. It's nice to be able to have a "legal" copy of these finally. So what are you waiting for? Go and get it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Allan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2013 11:28:17
I had forgotten how elegant the Moldvay BX system was. Even after all these years, this is probably the best start to D&D available. Everything is easy to find, the rules are simple and concise. Some of the retroclones approach this level of elegance, but Moldvay 'git thar fustest with the mostest!" This may be the best version of D&D ever.
The PDF is beautiful. Art by Jeff Dee and Erol Otus looks great in this scan and the text is completely searchable. Outstanding!
I am looking forward to running B2 with these rules!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2013 20:16:34
Outstanding scan on the pages, very crisp. It feels like owning an original proof that didn't make it to the printer!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2013 13:55:04
After all these years there is still no better or easier introduction to D&D than this version of the rules.

Clean, precise and succinct.

Although the later 1983 Mentzer version contained more hand-holding this tended to mean there were many more pages to read before you could get started.

This version gets you started quickly and gives all the rules needed for a good old school dungeon-crawl.

Paired with a good intro module like B2 "Keep on the Borderlands" and it is all the D&D beginner needs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2013 07:05:11
The Moldvay Basic rules for D&D takes the game to a new height of simplicity. I had no recollection of this period, coming to D&D with the iconic red box. Weapon damage all rolled on the same dice - why not. Elves, Dwarves and Halfling all separate options - great. All the essentials of the game, for both players and referee, crammed into a single volume, with all manner of guidance and support presented in a clear and concise way. Within hours of reading this, I had a character sheet drafted out in Excel and my old D&D dice crayoned up for action.

A welcome return with good scans of the original.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2013 15:20:13
I bought this and the expert set back in 1981 and it was my first introduction to the world of D&D. I still have the complete box set at home with the awful green dice that came with the game. Sadly, the crayon has disappeared. I decided to buy a PDF version so I wouldn't wreck my original copy. Definitely worth the cash and well worth the nostalgia. Can't wait for the expert rule book to come out through here. It is great that WotC has decided to release it all again after all these years. Now to get back to some good old basic gaming.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shell A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2013 20:22:37
This is the game I was introduced to over thirty years ago, the D&D Basic Rulebook. This is my favorite version of the D&D game. This is a wonderful, nostalgic find for me, and I hope WotC gives us the D&D Expert Rulebook, soon!

The D&D Basic game is easy to learn (and for referees to teach), Characters are simple... rolled-up, equpped, and playable in about 10 minutes.

If you are an old-timer like me, this book will help you re-capture the old magic, that sense of excitement and wonder that you felt when you first discovered the Original Fantasy Role Playing Game.

This is the game you are happy (and comfortable) to teach, and play with your kids. It is not dark, gritty, or morally complicated. These are the gaming traditions that are worth passing on.

If you have never played this version, I hope you will give it a try... c'mon, for $5 you won't be dissappointed.

The pdf is a good, clean scan, and prints good. It is bookmarked, and easy to navigate.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set Rulebook (B/X ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/22/2013 14:35:14
If you are like me then this is it. THIS is what D&D was. Sure I had read a friends Holmes/Blue-book Basic set and I knew of AD&D through the Monster Manual. But this is the D&D book that started it all for me. This is the one that set fire to my imagination.

This is a complete set of rules. Character creation through to 3rd level. Monsters, treasures, dungeons. Everything that ever was or will be D&D had it's start right here (more or less). Honestly this book is not worth 5 stars here. It is worth 6 out of 5.

I almost would say that if I could only play one version of D&D ever, then this might be the one. It lacks the complexity of AD&D or 3e, but anymore I see this as a feature.

64 pages plus cover. Marbleized dice and crayon not included.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG